top of page

Florida Legislature

The Florida Legislature meets in session every year for sixty consecutive days. 


During odd-numbered years, a regular session of the legislature convenes on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in March, and on the second Tuesday after the first Monday in January during even-numbered years. 


There are other ways in which the Legislature may be convened as outlined in Article III, Section 3, of the Florida Constitution, including special sessions, which may be called either by the Governor; or by a joint proclamation issued by the Senate President and House Speaker. An extension of regular session or special session requires a three-fifths vote of each house.


Florida Senate​

Dist 20: Jim Boyd

Represents south Hillsborough and north Manatee Counties

District Office: 717 Manatee Avenue West

Suite 100

Bradenton, FL 34205

(941) 742-6445

Dist 22: Joe Gruters

Represents south Manatee and Sarasota Counties

District Office: 381 Interstate Boulevard

Sarasota, FL 34240

(941) 378-6309


Florida House

Dist 70: Mike Beltran

Represents south Hillsborough and north Manatee Counties

3618 Erindale Drive

Valrico, FL 33596-6311

(813) 653-7097

Dist 71: Will Robinson

Represents east Manatee County

Suite 746

1112 Manatee Avenue West

Bradenton, FL 34205-7804

(941) 708-4968

Dist 72: Tommy Gregory

Represents east Manatee County

Suite 108A

8470 Enterprise Circle

Lakewood Ranch, FL 34202-4105

(941) 708-5660


Dist 73: Fiona McFarland

3131 South Tamiami Trail

Sarasota, FL 34239-5101

(941) 361-2465

Dist 74: James Buchanan

Represents east Sarasota County

Building A: Unit #102

5900 Pan American Boulevard

North Port, FL 34287-3425

(941) 429-4560

Dist 75: Michael Grant

Represents southwest Sarasota and northwest Charlotte Counties

Suite C

4355 Pinnacle Street

Port Charlotte, FL 33980-2902

(941) 613-0914

bottom of page